April 5-6, 2014
North Myrtle Beach, SC

European Teams & UofA Defer; Six Regions Receive Bids

The Midwest, Eastern Canada, Mid-Atlantic, West, South, and Southwest regions have each been offered an additional World Cup bid, as the six qualified European teams have deferred their tournament bids. Also, the University of Arizona has withdrawn from the tournament, and their spot has been offered to a second additional team from the Western Region.

Per the IQA’s bid allocation procedures, the teams listed below have now been invited to compete in the World Cup. Should any of these teams defer their bid, the bid will be offered to the next team in that team’s region. Please note that the West had two new teams receive bids, one deferred by European teams and one deferred by the University of Arizona.

Midwest – Eastern Michigan University (16th overall bid)
Eastern Canada - TBD pending the outcome of a qualifying match on March 9  (5th overall bid)
Mid-Atlantic – University of Virginia (11th overall bid)
West – Cal Quidditch and San Jose State University Owls (12th and 13th overall bids)
South – University of South Carolina (8th overall bid)
Southwest – Cougar Quidditch (13th overall bid)

Any further bid that is deferred by a team will be offered in turn to the next-highest finishing teams of that region, and then offered to the Northeast, Midwest, Eastern Canada, Mid-Atlantic, West, and South, before returning to the Southwest.

This European World Cup qualifiers were: regional champion Oxford Chimeras, Antwerpen Beerters, Belgian Qwaffles, Brindisi Lunatica, Paris Frog, and Paris Phénix. The IQA appreciates the efforts of its European qualifiers to attend the World Cup, and looks forward to seeing teams from European nations both at next year’s World Cup and at the Global Games in Burnaby, Canada, this July.

For an updated list of qualified World Cup teams, please visit this page.